top of page

Off to a Good Start

This semester I am volunteering at the Washington County Animal Shelter. I have already volunteered a total of eleven hours and I have loved all of it. I mostly spend my time in the Cat Room, which means I get to spend couple hours just giving cats some much deserved attention and helping potential adopters find the perfect match. (Pictured to the left is Gansta, he is a good boy who loves a good brush and cuddle)

To be completely honest, I struggled a bit the first couple times because no one would really talk to me and explain what I needed to do. Eventually I was able to figure it out and while I still have some things I am unsure of I feel much more comfortable. I really love getting to spend time with all of the different cats. They all have such distinct personalities, so no day is ever boring. I also love that I get to be there when some of them get adopted. It's a really happy moment for everyone involved and I can't help but be in a good mood for the rest of the day.

(Below are some sweet fur-babies who love a good cuddle; some of them have already been adopted!)

Today was a really good day, I spoke with a young woman who was there looking for the perfect match. We went to a few different cats and at one point she was holding a little black and white cat in her arms. Now, this cat is a little crazy and she wants to walk from one shoulder to the other and down her back, but overall she's being really good. Then, out of no where she jumps from the woman straight into my arms about five feet away! We were both completely shocked and couldn't do more than laugh for a few minutes after it happened.

On personal/academic development I have gone to two meetings for the Criminal Justice Society which were about an hour each. I am not 100% sure I can count that but I went to them. I have also spent some time drawing and painting which has been really nice.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page