top of page

What do I value?


Our in class discussion on what we value could not have come at a better time for me. Not only did it help me personally, but it also overlapped with my Argumentation and Debate class because we began value debates on Wednesday. This has lead to me thinking heavily on what I truly value.

I have decided that my number one value is integrity, because I believe it encompasses several things that I value. To me, integrity includes trust, honor, respect, and staying true to who I am and what I believe in. I actually based my entire debate on this value because I found it to be the most fitting to my topic.

During class on Tuesday several people stated that one of their top values is happiness, which I found interesting because I never would have thought to value my own happiness. This isn't because I believe it is selfish because it is never a bad thing to want to be happy. I just never considered that happiness should be something I consider when I make daily decisions, and I am now trying to think about my own happiness more in an attempt to better myself.

I believe everyone should take the time and think about what they truly value because it helps when making decisions both big and small. We go through life everyday making decisions and it is important to know what influences the choices we make, whether its family, ambition, respect, or all of the above.

My personal mission statement that I came up with is: My goal in life is to remain true to who I am, while working to better myself through helping others. I will also strive to remain committed to my family and friends everyday. I hope to use my compassion for helping others to make a positive change in my community.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page