top of page

My Volunteer Experiences

Over the past couple weeks I have volunteered at three separate places for a total of 11. 5 hours. I started out at Mountain View Elementary school volunteering with the Coalition For Kids, then I went home for the weekend and volunteered at Jellico Family Museum, and finally I volunteered at the Coalition For Kids facility.

To be completely honest, I did not enjoy my first experience at Mountain View Elementary. I felt like a fish out of water, and I didn't really receive any assistance. I tried my best though and managed to get through the day. However, I did decide that I did not want to return to volunteer there. The people were great and so were the kids, but it wasn't a great fit for me or my schedule. This decision led me back to the main facility to talk with the volunteer coordinator. She is super nice and wants her volunteers to enjoy their experience at C4K, so she quickly found an alternative for me.

The alternative was to go to the main facility during the evenings. This turned out to be a good decision, because I enjoyed my time a lot more. The activities that I did were essentially the same at both places, but for some reason the change in location made all the difference. I plan to go back to the facility on Monday.

The other volunteer experience I had was a familiar one. I have volunteered at the museum back home for several years now, so it was familiar and comfortable. I will most likely get a few more hours there when I go back on the weekends.

Overall, I think I've had a successful couple of weeks especially since I have had a lot of homework to balance. I hope to continue to get hours at the C4K and the museum, as well as somewhere new.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page