top of page

Things to leave behind...

When packing for college every student is faced with choosing what to bring and what to leave behind. These decisions reflect what each student values. When I was packing for college I of course packed the necessities but I also made sure to pack my dreamcatcher. I brought it specifically because of the memories of my family that are attached to it. Every time I look at it I can remember being with my family in the little store full of Cherokee made products and picking out my little dreamcatcher. I believe the fact that I was so adamant about packing something as simple as a dreamcatcher means I value family.

When starting college everyone wants to leave something behind, for me it was the pressure of high expectations. I'm from a small town where everyone knows everyone and that combined with my high grades in school led to expectations of greatness in almost everything. To some extent it didn't affect me, I just did my best and when my best didn't measure up I just ignored it as much as I could. I didn't truly realize how much pressure I had on me until I got to campus an no one expected me to have all the answers. I had gotten used to those around me expecting me to know the answers to or how to fix everything and my automatic frustration when I couldn't understand. On the other hand, no one knows me well enough at ETSU to have expectations, and I am really enjoying that right now!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page